Tutorial: Heatless Hair Waves

HeatlessWavesHeader

Welcome to my very first tutorial ever! =) I have to give credit to Carly Cristman from YouTube for introducing this technique to me a few years ago but I really love it and I wanted to share it with you all. This is a great way to style your hair the night before without using any heat and sleeping will provide a long enough time for curls to form in your hair!

What you will need:

♡ A thin cotton hairband

…And that’s it! It’s so simple!

Divider (31)Divider (31)

① Start with washed and completely dried hair. I’ve found that it doesn’t work well on second day hair because the hair does not hold well in the hairband. If your hair is damp, the waves become uneven and they will lose their shape as soon as you brush through them in the morning!

② Place the hairband over your head so that it goes over your forehead and stops at about halfway down the back of your head

HeatlessWaves-1

③ Starting from one section of your hair, grab a section of hair (how much will depend on how tight you want your waves/curls to be!) and pull it over then underneath through the hairband. You do not have to be neat with this at all because if you’re sleeping in the hairstyle, there’s no point trying to make it neat and perfect!

HeatlessWaves-2

➳ Tip: If you have side swept bangs (and you start on that side), make that specific section a little thicker than the rest so that it’s more flattering!

④ Continue grabbing equal sections of hair, adding to the previous section and pulling it underneath the hairband, making sure that each section is tight and secure so they won’t fall apart!

HeatlessWaves-3

⑤ Once you have used half of your hair, begin the same technique on the other side of your head. I like to pull the ends of the completed side into my mouth to hold it in place while I work on the other side! =P

HeatlessWaves-4

My bangs are on this side so I made the section slightly thicker!

⑥ When there are only loose ends left, twirl them into the hairband tightly to secure the entire hairdo in place

HeatlessWaves-5

Go to sleep! =) Depending on your hair texture and type, the time needed for the curls to form will vary but I think that leaving it overnight will be perfect for everyone!

Style accordingly to your preference! If the curls turn out a little tighter than you would like, lightly brush through them. If you want them to hold their shape, use hairspray! It’s your hair so you can choose to do whatever you want with it hehehe.

HeatlessWaves-6

Day 1 versus Day 2: I actually prefer the curls the day after because they loosen up a little! The curls stay in place until the next time you wash it! =)

➳ Tip: Don’t even take your hair out! This is a great simpler alternative to do a Milkman’s braid if you choose to use a more suitable hairband!

I hope you enjoyed my first tutorial! I’m planning on doing more of these posts in the coming months! ♡

83 thoughts on “Tutorial: Heatless Hair Waves

    • Dorkchops says:

      Try it! 😀 It never works well for me when my hair is wet. 😦 But I have really thick hair so when I wake up it’s still wet so the curls don’t form at all! 😦 I think if you have fine hair then it might work because it’ll dry while you sleep! ❤

      Like

    • Dorkchops says:

      Thank you! 😀 I hope it was clear! I’ve realised it’s a bit difficult to explain hair tutorials by words. >< Hope it works out well for you! ❤ This tutorial has made it so much easier for me to curl my hair so I really hope you enjoy it as much as I do! 😀 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • kauifrommaui says:

        I understood it perfectly (: I couldn’t imagine trying to explain hairstyles, like a fishtail braid. That would be hard. Thank you, I hope I do too! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Dorkchops says:

        Yay so happy you understood it! 😀 Was hoping at least one person would LOL. I know! It’s quite difficult explaining without recording it! >< Thank you for the feedback! ❤ Let me know how it turns out for you when you try it!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Marzyylovee says:

    I’ve seen this method on Pinterest & wasn’t too sure if it would actually work! Now that I see your hair looks amazing after, I will have to try this! looking forward to more hair tutorials from you doll ❤

    __________
    M.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dorkchops says:

      Thank you! 😀 I’m such a beginner with my hair, I was surprised it even worked when I first tried it LOL. But if I can do it, you can do it too! ❤ Definitely give it a go! Thank you again M! ❤ ❤

      Like

  2. Bonjour Brittany says:

    I’ve seen something like this on Pinterest! I have to say, your tutorial was far easier for me to understand than the stinking Pin! I have to try this!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dorkchops says:

      It really is! 😀 I can never find the time to properly use a curling iron because it takes more than 30 minutes but this literally takes less than 5 and you do it the night before!

      Like

  3. emicherry says:

    The curls look so beautiful and wavy on you ❤ I've actually tried this before, but I just couldn't find out how to set my hair in the back, since I tend to lose control over my very straight hair 😀 What do you do with your hair in the back? A bun, or..? Anyway, thanks for another helpful post ❤

    Liked by 1 person

      • emicherry says:

        It does 😉 The last time I did this, I tucked it in like you described, but at the time my hair was too long – I guess that might have been the problem. But now, after I cut off a huge chunk, it seems that it’s not long enough for this to be successful.. Seems like I’ll never get the right hair length 😀 Anyway, thanks for the reply! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      • Dorkchops says:

        Yes it gets difficult the longer your hair is! My hair is thick so it does kind of take up a lot of space in the twist but it somehow manages to curl still if I open up some spaces by splitting the twist apart when I reach the ends and continuing to twist! 😀 Aw no! 😦 Hopefully when you hair grows out a bit more you’ll be able to try it again! 😀 Hehe you’re welcome! ❤ ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      • Anjie says:

        Hi Jen! I’ve tried it and it worked on my hair ^_^ I love it especially that I managed to make big curls 😋 thanks for sharing this tutorial! now I can easily curl my hair whenever I feel like it 😊💕

        Like

Leave a comment